Members

Harbor Safety Committee
of the Humboldt Bay Area
Our Members

The Harbor Safety Committee of the Humboldt Bay Area was mandated by the Lempert-Keene-Seastrand Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act of 1990. On November 20, 1991, the California Department of Fish and Wildlife's Office of Oil Spill Prevention and Response officially appointed the Committee.


Members are appointed for a term of 3 years.  Application for Membership can be found HERE

Chair and Vice Chair

Captain Leroy Zerlang, Chair
Zerlang and Zerlang
1493 Faye Avenue
Fairhaven, CA  95564
Tel:  707-443-5180
humtug@gmail.com

 


Ms. Julie Moug, Vice Chair
Figas Construction
10 Rocky Creek Road
Bayside, CA  95524
Tel:  707-407-5988
mougjulie@gmail.com

 

Port Authority
Term Expires March 20, 2022

Member

Mr. Larry Oetker
Harbor Master
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District
P.O. Box 1030
Eureka, CA 95502-1030
Tel: 707.443.0801
loetker@humboldtbay.org
 

Alternate

Vacant

Bar Pilot
Term Expires July 17, 2022

Member

Captain John Powell
Humboldt Bay Bar Pilots
6210 West Ridge Court
Eureka, CA  95501
Tel:  707.834-4938
unitpapa@gmail.com

 

Alternate

Captain Tim Petrusha
Humboldt Bay Bar Pilots
6210 West Ridge Court
Eureka, CA  95501
Tel:  707.834-4938
tim@humboldtbarpilots.com
 

Local Law Enforcement
Term Expires March 16, 2025

Member

Deputy Travis Rogers
Humboldt County Sheriff's Department
826 Fourth Street
Eureka, CA 95501
Tel: 707.268.2532
tarogers@co.humboldt.ca.us
 

Alternate


 

Tug Operator
Term Expires September 16, 2023

Member

Captain Leroy Zerlang
Zerlang and Zerlang
1493 Faye Avenue
Fairhaven, CA  95564
Tel: 707.443.5180
humtug@gmail.com
 

Alternate

Vacant
 

Tank Barge Operators
Term Expires June 2, 2023

Member

Mr. Ross McDonald
Sause Bros. Tug and Barge
3710 NW Front Avenue
Portland, OR 97210
Tel: 503.297.2160
rossm@sause.com
 

Alternate

Vacant
 

Dry Cargo Vessel Operators
Term Expires September 16, 2023

Member

Ms. Julie Moug, Vice Chair
Figas Construction
10 Rocky Creek Road
Bayside, CA  95524
Tel: 707.407.5988
mougjulie@gmail.com



 

Alternate

Mr. Peter Jackson
Green Diamond
405 Bay Street
Fairhaven, CA 95564
pjackson@greendiamond.com
 

Commercial Fishing
Term Expires July 17, 2022

Member

Mr. Harrison Ibach




 

Alternate

Vacant

Pleasure Boat Operators
Term Expires January 19, 2025

Member

Ms. Bridget Hand
Center Activities - Humboldt State University
1 Harpst Street
Arcata, CA  95521
Tel:  707.826.3362
bridget.hand@humboldt.edu

Alternate

Mr. Kent Hulbert
Humboldt Area Saltwater Anglers
 

Tribal / Environmental
Term Expires

Member





 

Alternate

Vacant
 

California Coastal Commission
Term Expires March 30, 2024

Member

Mr. Jonathan Bishop
Oil Spill Program Coordinator
California Coastal Commission
725 Front Street, Suite 300
Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4508
Tel: 831.427.4873
Alt Tel: 415.693.8375 (Oil Spill 24-hour notification cell phone)
jbishop@coastal.ca.gov
 

Alternate

Vacant

Local Coast Guard

Member

Surface Operations
USCG Group Humboldt Bay
1001 Lycoming Way
McKinleyville, CA 95519
Tel: 707.839.6111

 

Alternate

Aids to Navigation
USCG Group Humboldt Bay
200 New Navy Base road
Samoa, CA 95564
Tel: 707.269.2551

NOAA

Member

Mr. Jeff Ferguson
CA Navigation Manager
NOAA Office of Coast Survey
Acting OR/WA Navigation Manager
Cell: 301-351-7798
Jeffrey.Ferguson@noaa.gov


 

Alternate

Ms. Rebecca Smyth
NOAA Office of Coast Survey
Regional Coordinator
45 Fremont Street, Suite 2000
San Francisco, CA 94105-2219
Tel: 415.904.5251
Rebecca.Smyth@noaa.gov

U.S. Coast Guard COTP

Member


Commanding Officer
USCG Sector San Francisco
1 Yerba Buena Island
San Francisco, CA 94130-9309
Tel: 415.399.3410
 

Alternate


Commanding Officer
USCG Sector Humboldt Bay
1001 Lycoming Way
McKinleyville, CA 95519
Tel: 707.839.6103
 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Member

Ms. Jessica Burton Evans
Navigation Program Manager
USACE San Francisco District
1455 Market Street
San Francisco, CA  94103-1398
Tel:  415-503-6862
Jessica.L.BurtonEvans@spd02.usace.army.mil
 

Alternate

Mr. Peter Mull
Project Manager
USACE San Francisco District
1455 Market Street, Room 1636F
San Francisco, CA  94103-1398
Tel:  415.503.6733
Peter.A.Mull@spd02.usace.army.mil
 

Office of Spill Prevention and Response

Liaison

Mr. Reuben Macaspac
Oil Spill Prevention Specialist
CA Department of Fish and Wildlife
P.O. Box 944209
Sacramento, CA 94244-2090
Tel: 916-375-5928
Fax: 916-327-0907
Reuben.Macaspac@wildlife.ca.gov
 



Mr. Jeff Dayton
Environmental Scientist
CA Department of Fish and Wildlife
619 Second Street
Eureka, CA 95501
Tel: 707.441.5736
Fax: 707.445.6664
Jeff.Dayton@wildlife.ca.gov




 

Back to Top