Members

Harbor Safety Committee
of the Humboldt Bay Area
Our Members

The Harbor Safety Committee of the Humboldt Bay Area was mandated by the Lempert-Keene-Seastrand Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act of 1990. On November 20, 1991, the California Department of Fish and Wildlife's Office of Oil Spill Prevention and Response officially appointed the Committee.


Members are appointed for a term of 3 years.  Application for Membership can be found HERE

Port Authority
Term Expires November 19, 2017

Member

Ms. Suzie Howser, Chair
Dockmaster
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District
P.O. Box 1030
Eureka, CA 95502-1030
Tel: 707.443.0801
showser@humboldtbay.org
 

Alternate

Vacant

Bar Pilot
Term Expires May 18, 2019

Member

Captain John Powell
Humboldt Bay Bar Pilots
6210 West Ridge Court
Eureka, CA  95501
Tel:  707.834-4938
unitpapa@gmail.com

 

Alternate

Captain Tim Petrusha
Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District
P.O. Box 1030
Eureka, CA 95502-1030
Tel: 707.834-4939
tpetrusha@humboldtbay.org

Local Law Enforcement
Term Expires May 18, 2019

Member

Deputy Roy Reynolds
Humboldt County Sheriff's Department
826 Fourth Street
Eureka, CA 95501
Tel: 707.268.2532
rreynolds@co.humboldt.ca.us
 

Alternate

Deputy Phil Daastol
Humboldt County SHeriff's Department
826 Fourth Street
Eureka, CA  95501
Tel:
pdaastol@co.humboldt.ca.us
 

Tug Operator
Term Expires July 16, 2017

Member

Captain Leroy Zerlang
Brusco Tug and Barge
1493 Faye Avenue
Fairhaven, CA  95564
Tel: 707.498.4618
humtug@gmail.com
 

Alternate


 

Tanker Operations
Term Expires March 14, 2017

Member

Mr. Ross McDonald
Sause Bros. Tug and Barge
3710 NW Front Avenue
Portland, OR 97210
Tel: 503.297.2160
rossm@sause.com
 

Alternate

Vacant
 

Dry Cargo
Term Expires July 16, 2017

Member

Ms. Julie Salminen
T.K. Salmi Transportation
10 Rocky Creek Road
Bayside, CA  95524
Tel: 707.407.5988
jrsalmi@yahoo.com
 

Alternate

Vacant

Commercial Fishing
Term Expires

Member

Vacant




 

Alternate

Vacant

Pleasure Boating
Term Expires November 16, 2019

Member

Mr. Casey Allen
Retired
4344 Dubeault Road
Bayside, CA  95524
Tel:  707.822.9115
longfish@humboldt1.com
 

Alternate

Ms. Bridget Hand
Center Activities - Humboldt State University
1 Harpst Street
Arcata, CA  95521
Tel: 707.826.3362
bridget.hand@humboldt.edu
 

Tribal / Environmental
Term Expires March 16, 2020

Member

Mr. Tim Nelson
Table Bluff Reservation Wiyot Tribe
1000 Wiyot Drive
Loleta, CA  95551
Tel:  707.733.5055
tim@wiyot.us
 

Alternate

Mr. Eddie Koch
Table Bluff Reservation Wiyot Tribe
1000 Wiyot Drive
Loleta, CA  95551
Tel:  707.733.5055
eddie@wiyot.us
 

Coastal Commission
Term Expires March 18, 2018

Member

Mr. Jonathan Bishop
Oil Spill Program Coordinator
California Coastal Commission
725 Front Street, Suite 300
Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4508
Tel: 831.427.4873
Alt Tel: 415.693.8375 (Oil Spill 24-hour notification cell phone)
jbishop@coastal.ca.gov
 

Alternate

Vacant

Local Coast Guard

Member

LCDR Jeff Garvey
Surface Operations
USCG Group Humboldt Bay
1001 Lycoming Way
McKinleyville, CA 95519
Tel: 707.839.6111
Jeff.M.Garvey@uscg.mil
 

Alternate

Aids to Navigation
USCG Group Humboldt Bay
200 New Navy Base road
Samoa, CA 95564
Tel: 707.269.2551

NOAA

Member

Mr. Jeff Ferguson
Navigation Manager
NOAA Office of Coast Survey
Jeffrey.Ferguson@noaa.gov

Alternate

Ms. Rebecca Smyth
NOAA Office of Coast Survey
Regional Coordinator
45 Fremont Street, Suite 2000
San Francisco, CA 94105-2219
Tel: 415.904.5251
Rebecca.Smyth@noaa.gov

U.S. Coast Guard COTP

Member

Captain Anthony Ceraolo
Commanding Officer
USCG Sector San Francisco
1 Yerba Buena Island
San Francisco, CA 94130-9309
Tel: 415.399.3410
 

Alternate

Captain Arthur J. Snyder
Commanding Officer
USCG Sector Humboldt Bay
1001 Lycoming Way
McKinleyville, CA 95519
Tel: 707.839.6103
 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Member

Ms. Jessica Burton Evans
Navigation Program Manager
USACE San Francisco District
1455 Market Street
San Francisco, CA  94103-1398
Tel:  415-503-6862
Jessica.L.BurtonEvans@spd02.usace.army.mil
 

Alternate

Mr. Peter Mull
Project Manager
USACE San Francisco District
1455 Market Street, Room 1636F
San Francisco, CA  94103-1398
Tel:  415.503.6733
Peter.A.Mull@spd02.usace.army.mil
 

Office of Spill Prevention and Response

Liaison

Mr. Reuben Macaspac
Oil Spill Prevention Specialist
CA Department of Fish and Wildlife
P.O. Box 944209
Sacramento, CA 94244-2090
Tel: 916.324.0144
Fax: 916-327-0907
Reuben.Macaspac@wildlife.ca.gov
 



Mr. Jeff Dayton
Environmental Scientist
CA Department of Fish and Wildlife
619 Second Street
Eureka, CA 95501
Tel: 707.441.5736
Fax: 707.445.6664
Jeff.Dayton@wildlife.ca.gov




 

Back to Top